Big Saturday plans

For better or for worse, I called my mom and we talked. I tried to keep from accusing her of failing as a grandma, and he didn't accuse me of being too demanding. Again she brought up "dizzy spells" and general malaise as to why she couldn't hang out with us more during the con. Whatever. She's 55 going on 15 and can't be bothered to help anyone. I apologized for hurting her feelings and she did the same.

The real reason I had called her is because I need her help. This weekend is a Tri-State Gamers Morningside library game day, Chuck's store splash, the diabetes wellness fair, and our city's Fall Fest. There are literally too many events for me to go to them all.

Chuck and I have decided to divide and conquer. We created an itinerary that ensures we can go to our priority events and get as many things done as we can.

We'll start together in the morning, but then Chuck is going to be dropping me and the kids off at our second event while he goes to the game day. He needs to make an appearance at least because he's the vice president of the non-profit and Mark Wilson, the president, is now really busy with going to school and working full time.

I'll be walking to most of my events as they are all within blocks of each other downtown.

Chuck will go from the library to his store splash at Games King, which is slotted for 5 hours.

THe hitch comes with the last two events for this Fall Fest. They're a little farther than I feel comfortable walking with four kids.

I called my mom and framed it in such a way as I was inviting her to join us, not asking her to drive us around. She said she'd talk to Dad about it, which basically just mean she'd inform him. But, I didn't hear from her the next night, and when I tried to call, no one answered. I guess we'll see. Even if she doesn't come to help, we'll still go to most of the events, just not the two that are not immediately downtown.

All in all, I've scheduled 7 events, 5 of which are downtown. Hopefully the kids have fun and don't get too overwhelmed.

10:10 A.M. - 10.07.15