Endocrinology

I am so nervous for my endocrinology appointment today. Meeting a new doctor is always kind of a nerve-wracking experience. What if we don't gel? What if he is really old-fashioned and doesn't agree with a low-carb diet? This is the doctor who may be directing my insulin pump settings and may decide my future in pumps and possibly continuous glucose monitors. What if he erases all my pump settings? Well, I already prepared for that possibility by downloading all my pump settings earlier this week. What if he's mean? I have heard so many horror stories in my diabetic support group about doctors who yell, shame, delete settings, and otherwise say horrible things. If this all goes wrong, I do have a back-up. There is a diabetic educator at the hospital here who knows about pumps, and theoretically, could change pump settings, but she says she's not a "provider" and thus would have to get approval from my pcp to change my settings. Honestly though, my pcp pushed so hard for me to see this endo. Their office called me like 4 times and sent me a letter telling me to call the office, all so they could double check that I had made this appointment. But also, I don't care what they say. I have been making my own pump setting changes for almost 2 months now. If the diabetic educator at the hospital can't change my pump, I'll just do it. I just need someone to advise me a bit. I can do a lot; I have been able to trouble shoot a lot of issues with my blood sugars all in my own, but having an expert look at the numbers will be a big help. Having an endocrinologist helping me would be great, but not if we don't get along.

I guess we'll just have to see what happens.

10:14 A.M. - 05.03.17