Diabetes

I've been reading Dr. Bernstein's diabetes book, and so far I'm not sure if I like it or not. First of all, people who use his method says that there's no way that you can get normal blood sugars if you were eating carbs. Well, that's untrue and unkind because I did for a little while before I went to the shelter and after that when I was on my insulin pump. They kind of sound like a cult, and they try to discount everyone else's methods; that's not cool. In the actual book itself, the first two sections are forewords written by others doctors for the newer edition. Originally he wrote the book a long time ago. And they're just patting him on the back telling the reader what a great doctor he is and how he came over this method himself. Then the next sections, the true first section of the book is Dr Bernstein just talking about his life story. Just how he was diagnosed and then how he rescued himself from doctors on the time by checking his own blood sugar and eating less carbs and all that stuff. So, if he doesn't have an ego the size of a bus I don't know what. Reading on, there are testimonials, which go on for several pages, of people just talking about how great it is when they finally got the blood sugar under control and whatever complications they either avoided or reversed. I skipped a lot of those; I wasn't going to read that. He also said that all type 1s are diagnosed early in life. Maybe that was his experience and experience of 99% of people back then, but these days more people are diagnosed after 24 then before. So already seems like he does really have his facts right. The other thing is that he says you should eat zero carbs. 0 carbs, none, nothing. I don't like that. I'm definitely see the value of eating less carbs. taking less insulin and eating more vegetables and healthier foods, but there's no way I can go to zero carbs. I don't want to have to buy special foods that I'll be the only one eating, and I don't want to have food that I can't eat in the house. I still want to be able to eat dinner with my family like a regular person. And sometimes that has carbs, sometimes it's rice or pasta. I don't want my kids to think that there is this huge list of foods I just can't eat. I don't want them to feel bad for me, or feel like I'm being deprived. I just want to lose weight and have my blood sugar under control, so far, neither of those two things are happening. And that's where I'm worried, that I won't see true results unless I cut out carbs. Which is something I really just don't want to do.

9:42 A.M. - 10.03.15