Cons and games

Chuck is getting ready to go to a convention this weekend as a game demo rep, basically. He'll get free admission, but only if he only ever plays the demo games. I'm glad I'm not going this time. I think I'm still burnt out from Tri-Con Fall. The kids and I are going to do stuff all weekend. I am simultaneously dreading and looking forward to cleaning the house. Typically I don't do much over the weekend and by Monday it looks like a tornado went through. This time I'm hoping to thoroughly clean the kitchen and living room. Possibly the bathrooms as well. I've lined up a couple of friends to come over on Saturday for those of us who will not be attending the con, and on Monday a couple of our friends are coming over as well to try a new game we got last week: Machi Koro. I highly recommend it. We got the deluxe version which comes in a nice metal "tin" with the base game and both of the expansions. The artwork is beautiful and it's so simple and fun to play, but at the same time, very complex.

So while he's at the con, we'll just be doing what we do. We might go to the library, the dollar store, might bake some cookies or granola bars, who knows.

Looking ahead at the next conventions coming up, there's going to be one in Madison, NanoCon, a free con at a college campus. I'm thinking about going. I know I want to go to VerminCon in January, so Chuck goes to NukeCon (this weekend in Omaha), if I go to NanoCon, it'll be his turn when VerminCon comes around. We'll see how it goes. Maybe he wants to go to another one in between those, or maybe he'll want to go to NanoCon.

Last January was the first time I'd gone to a con without Chuck. It was fun. It was a little awkward for me at first, but all my friends were there, made some new ones, and just had a blast. Stayed up really late one night playing Cards Against Humanity and drinking, and the next day was sick, fainted, and had to sleep almost the whole day. Whoops. Won't be doing that again. I've learned that sleep, among other things, is really essential and vital to my health.

Now that it's October, I've decided that the kids and myself will be dressing in some costume or using costume pieces in our outfits every single time we go out (unless we're just playing in the yard). We have so many random costume and dress-up items it's ridiculous. We have cat and dog ears, dresses, masks, capes, hats, swords and weapons, tools, vests, just so much stuff. I don't even know how we amassed such a collection of things.

Working a little more on my diary, I'm going to add links for my favorite games. I can't believe I've never done that before. I have pages for my favorite books, movies and music, but not games. Weird. Also I'm thinking about adding a biography and/or cast page. Just little things. Maybe a list of life goals. Who knows.

12:36 P.M. - 10.02.15