third doctor's visit

I went to the doctor yesterday. They weighed me, I weigh 106. That's up 6 pounds from my last doctor's appointment at this same place. That's gaining more than a pound a week. This surprised me, but I'm optimisitic because maybe this means I will gain 40 pounds like I was told. I haven't been starving myself, and I haven't been overeating either. I guess in between. Of course, if I wasn't pregnant I would not eat nearly this much. I saw a new doctor, because this place is like a clinic and they don't have doctor's on staff, doctors come from the hospital or their regular practices and work at this center for a while. Nice guy, older than the other two doctors for sure. He was asking some questions and got to movement. He asked if I've felt the baby move. I said yes, both of them. He didn't quite get that, and Chuck says, "It's twins." He didn't know that. After he asked me some more questions, it becaue obvious that he didn't have all the paperwork. In fact, he had no paperwork from any of the tests or anything since the last time I was at this clinic. It's like four weeks of appointments didn't happen. So, he was gone for another ten minutes to get this lost paperwork. Add that to the hour and a half waiting in the waiting room, and the twenty minute wait in the exam room. That's why I don't want to go back to that clinic. We were fifteen minutes early. We might as well been fifteen hours late. When I went to see Dr. Hagen, the wait was like ten minutes. Totally bearable. Way better than two hours. So, the doctor came back with everything. He said that for the three-hour glucose test, one of the blood draw results were high. He says if two are high, then you have gestational diabetes. He made an appointment to go see a diatician anyway because they are going to put me on the diet for diabetes. This could prevent the diabetes, or if I do have it, I will already be on the diet. He wants to do another one hour test and if I fail that, then the three hour test again. I hate these tests. I know that as soon as I start to drink that nasty liquid, I will start feeling bad. It will remind me of the time I was sick with it. Then I will be sick for an hour or maybe three. Plus, if I have to do both tests, that five more vials of blood drawn from me. I've already had ten taken. So, there's that. Next, he said that from the ultrasound results, baby A, smaller, has less fluid around him/her than baby B, who has more fluid and is slightly larger. That's another thing to watch. Nothing really concerning yet, but anything that the doctor makes note of concerns me. Then, there's also the fact that he mentioned that I might have to have C-Section. I really don't want this. Surgery is much worse than vaginally delivery. Plus, if I have a C-Section my first delivery, there is a better chance I will have to have a c-section the other deliveries too (depending on how many babies I decided I want). The doctor measured me and I measured about 26.5 inches. I have no idea what this means, but it was the first measurement that the other doctors took that prompted my ultrasound and the discovery of twins. He listend to both heartbeats, and this time they were a little differnt. Chuck and I joked that he found the same heartbeat twice but after the first listen the baby got scared or something and his heartrate quickened. I mentioned that I've been having pains in my side, esspecially after I eat or have been siting in the wrong posistion for too long. He said it might be a gall bladder issue, and depending on how much it bothers me, they could do an ultrasound for that and see what's going on, possibly removing it. It really hasn't bothered me too much today. I've been really careful about how I sit and how much I eat, because I thought the problem was that I was overeating and my body was streching and expanding in a painful way because of the extra food. The doctor also made another appointment with Dr. Hagen to consult me about the twins. I want Dr. Hagen to be my primary doctor. Chuck mentioned that Dr. Hagen said that they might refer me to him. The doctor said that they will work with Dr. Hagen, but the clinic would still be very much involved. I have my diatician appointment tomarrow, my consult with Dr. Hagen on Monday, and in about two weeks is my next appointment at the clinic. When I go to see Dr. Hagen, I'll tell him that I want to switch and see what he says. Also, Dr. Hagen will schedule the ultrasound appointment. It might be in St. Luke's again or he could do it in his office. I hope he does it in his office so that way we can find out the sexes of the babies right away.

4:15 P.M. - Wednesday, Apr. 16, 2008