test

Snow sucks. Yesterday I got up at 7:30 to go to the hospital for my test. When I went outside to meet Chuck, his van was covered in snow, there was at least 6 inches on the ground, and it was still snowing! Geez! I got to the hospital, and I had to wait a while, and finally they called me into one of the offices of the admitting people where they have to double-check my info and give me my hospital bracelet. Then I went back to the lab place where they do these tests. The nurse told me what was going to happen. First, they take a vial of my blood to double-check my blood sugar. Then, I had to drink this drink and they would take my blood after one hour, two hours, and three hours. She asked me if I failed the one hour test and then said they normally don't do that test until later. She added that they probably did it because I'm having twins. I told her they didn't know I was having twins. I forgot for a moment that they had found glucose in my urine or I would have told her that is probably the reason. So I drank the drink and sat down. I started to feel bad, I figured I had to go to the bathroom, but then I could tell I was going to throw up. I asked the nurse where the bathroom was and went and I did throw up. That drink doesn't taste too bad going down, but it does taste bad coming up. Since I had thrown up thus ruining the test, they wanted to double-check with the doctor but they were pretty sure I could go. I am going in again on Tuesday morning. I called Chuck to come get me because he was at work. Now I have to go in again in the early morning and drink that drink again and get poked four more times for my blood. When I got home, I took a nap. I felt shitty. I didn't go to class. I only missed two classes. Then I had the radio, which was pretty uneventful. I went to Chuck's house after that because his boss had given us two t-bone steaks as and Easter bonus. We cooked them and they tasted good. We watched "Secret Window" with Johnny Depp and went to sleep. I don't normally sleep at Chuck's, and I think he must have gotten used to sleeping alone because he was everywhere. His head would be on his side, but his legs were on mine. That was annoying. When I woke him up a little to get him to move, he said that he was on his side. Ugh. I didn't sleep great. Plus, my mom bought me this awesome pillow for my birthday. It is a memory foam pillow. Now, I'm kinda a pillow snob and when I slept at Chuck's, his pillows really can't compare. I don't know why I settled for so many years! Tonight I will sleep in my own bed. I need to shower and get ready for class, so I will leave it there. Oh, and thank you all for your kind, reassuring words. The test that tested for the birth defects I assume came back negative, because otherwise they would have told me something. Thank you again.

8:24 A.M. - Friday, Mar. 28, 2008