New Tribute

A great man and hero to many died yesterday morning. Gary Gygax, one of the creators of dungeons and dragons, passed away in his sleep. While I didn't know the man personally, and probably you readers didn't either, he changed all our lives. His work inspired many video games, movies, and more. He was a great man, gamer at heart, and he loved to hear about how much people loved to play. Even in his declining health, he hosted weekly games as late as January. People frequently stopped by his home to talk to him and thank him. I wish I could have been one of those. He started a movement, and it is still continuing. He passed away right in the middle of the DND Experience, which is a convention in Washington D.C. where they are talkig about and releasing new information about the next edition of DND, which is a pretty big deal. I'm sure that Wizards of the Coast let Gary in on a few of those secrets. I wonder how he felt about the edition changes. You know, I met Chuck playing DND. If it weren't for Gary, we wouldn't have met. And I wouldn't be pregnant. So in a way he sorta helped to father my child. :) If I really tried to think of all the ways he's changed my life, I would probably have to sit in one place for the rest of my life because there are just that many things.
For more information, check out these links:

A tribute
A little biography

Also, I have made a DND ring. If you like DND, play it, admire it, whatever, join. You can find it on my D rings page. Or, I have made a Gary Gygax ring, it is on the G's.

Gary Gygax: Gone but not forgoten.

You just know he's playing in that big Gen Con in the sky.

1:21 P.M. - Wednesday, Mar. 05, 2008