D&D fun and games

I went to the shop today to play D&D. Didn't get a chance to play Beeeees! though. I had a lot of fun at the game. We were busting out of the drow's dungeon, Cassandra (James' monk) drank some aphrodisiac, put on a silk mask and matching spider broach, and nothing else, and showed up at his former lover/captor's room and according to him, started to do the "helicopter" because he was just so aroused, I guess. Then Trey made this sound effect like his "helicopter" was so large, his penis was like 3 feet long, and it just made it so much worse and funnier. We were all cracking up. Of course, trying to explain it to someone who wasn't there, it loses its humor and we all sound like 12-year-old boys. Kevin, our GM, just laughed along with us and let us kill time making adolescent jokes. We killed the drow guard but the story says we just let Cassandra's lover/captor get away. Why would the 12th-level drow spellcaster just run away, let us get away, and not kill us all? It didn't make sense, but it's organized play. The stories are pre-written, there's no choices available, and it feels like its on rails. Like you're on a train and you can't get off until it gets to where it is going. It's lame. But after an hour of railroading, we resumed our "home brew" game, and we have a lot more fun with it.

During the game, we got the news that Russel (local douchebag asshole) wants to run the exact same game at a different "game" store the exact same night each week. This other store doesn't even really sell RPG stuff. He's been practically begging the other store owner to run these games. He's only going to alienate people from D&D by begging them to play at the other (terrible) store. The other store has a long history of: 1. Opening boxes of random items, taking out the rares, repackaging the boxes and selling the rares at a higher cost, 2. Setting aside prizes meant to go to winners of tournaments and giving them to her favorite players, 3. Straight up telling judges of tournaments, "That's not the rule at my store" trying to bend the rules so her favorite players would win tournaments and prizes, 4. Demanding a "cut" of deals and trades that were facilitated by players who met or ever played at her store. I don't know how you can give a 20% "cut" of a straight-swap card trade between two players. Furthermore, I can't see how she'll be able to hold weekly games and not get involved with the players and her usual antics. Along with all those problems, I feel like he only pushed her to do this so that he could call the shots over there. The weekly games at my favorite shop had been going on for a couple of months before he joined up and tried to tell everyone, including me, what to do. Hell, the last time I saw him, he was leaving the shop in a huff because I wasn't running a game. What business is that of his? Why did he care so much? Honestly, if he hadn't been so pushy I would have run a game at the shop, but he kept asking me every single week, one week telling me "you'll run cold then" because I hadn't read the story ahead of time. I was like, honestly I don't know if I'm going and honestly I don't like you telling me what to do. He seems like a controlling freak. I really hated the fact that he seemed so bossy and damn near abusive when I met him years ago. I didn't like him then, and I don't want to say "I told you so" but that is how it feels. I kept my mouth shut for years while people kept going over to his house to play games and be his friend. I didn't tell people I thought he was an asshole. He's thrown fits and been pissy and rude before. He tried to cancel all of Kevin's D&D events for the con, but Wilson was just like, "No, I'll just take your name off of them and don't come." Like WTF, who does that? So he tried to sabotage Kevin's events. But Kevin said he needed his help with the events, so he let him apologize and basically took him back as a friend. I just really don't like this guy. If I never had to see him again, I'd be happy.

1:22 A.M. - 10.01.15