new computer!

So, I know I haven't written since Thursday, so I'll catch you up.

Friday

Earlier in the week I had gotten an email from Apple annoucing their new line of computers. I didn't want the new one. I wanted the old one. I contacted the Apple Store in Des Moines, an they still had some in stock until Wenesday, the 22nd. I wasn't planning on buying my computer until the 24th. That was a tricky stituation. We decided to go to Des Moines this weekend, the 12th.
I went to work in the afternoon, not early. I felt kinda sick by the end. I may be getting some repremands about something I said to a child on Friday. Nothing really bad, just a question I probably shouldn't have asked.

Saturday

I felt worse. I had made up my mind that I was to going to be getting my computer on Sunday, even if I passed out right after I pointed to the computer I wanted. I didn't care. I wanted my computer. I tried to compose myself and feel better. I wanted to get a good night's sleep.

Sunday

I was feeling a bit better. Not 100%, maybe 50%. We got ready to go. I slept mostly the way down there. We got there, got a little lost as is the custom, and headed for the mall. We went in and found the store. It took them ten minutes to tell me that I needed to set up an appointment for fifteen minutes later. So, I went to the bathroom and came back. Then, a few minutes later, I was asked what kind of computer I wanted. I wanted the 20" one, the cheapest of the two 20". He went to look for it. A few minutes, and he found it. Then, he got my printer, the Apple Care Protection, and my mom's iPod I was getting her. It took a few minutes in between all these things. If you can't tell yet, I was doing a lot of waiting. And, mind you, I was still sick. Once he had found all my stuff, it took at least half an hour to ring it up because we had to wait for the one register in the store to open up. My mom's iPod is free because of a mail-in rebate, as is the printer, and I got fifty dollars off my apple care thing. I'll save 350 after all the rebates. I was feeling bad, I wanted to leave. I had to sit down. So, we started walking out when an associate asked if we wanted to pick up my heavy computer in the back of the store, instead of carrying it to the car. Sure, we agreed. We got the computer and we went to the Cracker Barrel. I can never pronounce this name correctly; I always say Crackel Barrel. The 'l' in barrel throws me off. Just like refried beans. I can't say that either. I always say refried breans. I don't know why. Anyway, the wait time at the resteraunt was forty minutes, and I wanted to lay down for a time, so I stayed in the car. Then, my mom came and got me and recomended that I sit in the shade with them, instead of in the hot car. So, I got out, and sat with them. We weren't sitting very long before the called our name. We went inside. I knew I was going to order a water, and probably nothing else. I was still feeling pretty bad. I looked at the menu, but nothing sounded good. I got a water, at that was it. When the food came, I saw my mom's giant fries and I was suddenly hungry. My mom knew I should be eating so she generously let my have some. I only ate three before I felt kinda full, so I decided to stop. I mostly drank water. We looked around the shop, nothing really great or exciting. We went back to the car and made our way to Target. I was going into the store, and Becca was to be getting a lot of things, and I was to be gettign nothing. I had already gotten most of my things, and plus, money is tight. We took a few hours in Target, and then we left and left Des Moines. We made our way back home, but we were going to stop in Fort Dodge to get groceries. I elected to stay in the car. While I waited, I perused some of the things in my computer box, since it was sitting right next to me. I read all of the manual (a fifty pages, each page 4" by 4") and found my remote, mouse, and instalation CDs. Don't get me wrong, Macs come with everything installed already. All you have to do is plug in the stuff and turn it on. These CDs are just in case you need them, if there is a problem. We started the drive home, and when we got home, I waited a little bit, and then started to set up my computer. It is a 20" screen, but in widescreen format. You don't know how differn't it is to use one of those monitors until you do. It is really strange. I've used a Mac before, but it was a 17", more square. Now, I know what you're thinking. "She must be writing this entry on her new computer." Sadly, this is not the case. I am still on the old family Dell. Nothing is wrong with my computer, but it isn't hooked up to the internet. It's not worth gettting it hooked up just for ten days just to unhook it. I shall be using this computer a whlie longer. At least that will make the transistion easier.

10:00 A.M. - Monday, Aug. 13, 2007